I’ve been following some knitting on Ravelry that both amuses and amazes me.

You know tiny owl knits? I love her designs, especially the beekeeper’s quilt. Every time I see it I wish I’d had the idea first. It’s about a zillion little hexagon-shapes in different colours and patterns, stuffed and sewed together to make a blanket. Everyone loves these cute multicolour hexipuffs. Can you believe that there are 1269 projects? It’s such a huge thing to knit!

But what I really love is that people aren’t just making the quilt, they’re adapting the puffs into all kinds of things: chair cushions, cat toys, earrings, Christmas decorations, pillows; people make their own charted designs for the puffs and share them with others…really, it’s all quite weird and delightful. It’s such a big project that I don’t think anyone has finished a quilt yet – but so far there are at least a few happy cats.

Also see Stephanie’s cool designs at tinyowlknits.com

