I completed some knitting for a deadline recently, and had the usual shock you get from coming to a full stop. I tried to take a break. And I did, a bit: barbecuing anything that wouldn’t fall through the grill, taking photos with my birthday Diana Mini, and getting outside. But I couldn’t just sit around not knitting, could I? Because there are things I’ve been wanting to make but couldn’t…they’ve been calling to me.

Yesterday I cast on a shrug for a store sample – it should be finished quickly, so stop by Urban Yarns to have a look if you’re in the neighbourhood.

I switched up the yarn I was using for a Honey Cowl, and there’s a pile of toffee-coloured Madelinetosh yarn ready for a Dark and Stormy cardigan. I brought home a ball of Rowan Drift for a hat. I really haven’t had a problem starting things.

But I also feel stuck on what to do next. I have so many ideas for my own designs that I’m not sure where to start them. I think I need an originality holiday, just to let ideas simmer and develop on their own – which is ok. There are so many amazing patterns out there that, for now, I’m happy to let other clever designers do the thinking for me.

 

 

