It’s hard to believe how busy I am since quitting my office job. The transition has been pretty good, although I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I could benefit from a bit more structure (and money…). Some mornings it’s tempting to just sit on the balcony in my pyjamas knitting.

The last weekend and week have found me doing my regular work, plus camping on the Sunshine Coast, frantically crocheting (my proud new skill!) for a special project, and finishing Isaac’s belated birthday monster. I think it’s cute but Isaac wasn’t so sure, giving Monsieur Monster a cold evaluating look before running and hiding. I’m told that, as 2-year-olds do, he has developed strong toy opinions: if it doesn’t have wheels it’s a non-starter.

I should note that, although I am fonder of my monster creation than dear nephew, this project HURT to make. It’s knit on 3.75mm needles, instead of the recommended 5mm needles, to keep the fabric tight for stuffing. I developed a strange pain in my right elbow – is it possible I gave myself tennis elbow from knitting too tightly? Back to yoga, I guess. Maybe I should develop a yoga class for knitters!

Pattern: Penelope the Empathetic Monster by Rebecca Danger (ravelry link here)
Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted Cotton (100% cotton) in Seafoam and Dandelion

 

