Last week I got to play around for two days at Christa Giles‘ Vintage Techniques workshop. It was a treat to knit for two days straight, running down to the Granville Island market for fresh-baked or -grown snacks, and to pick up some new knitting tricks.

a table full of yarn and swatches: bliss!

Interestingly, I had been playing around for the last few months trying to figure out some of these techniques on my own, and actually came pretty close. But it was invaluable to talk to Christa about the actual mechanics of each and different ways they might be used.

We knit all the swatches together in a long Frankensteined swatch/scarf:

pleats, folds and gathers

ruching and smocking

reversible cables

At the end of the second day, we tried Cat Bordhi’s mobius cast-on. It’s neat (a mobius strip only has one side and one edge), but I’m not sure I see the usefulness of it beyond cowls. Even so, my mobius sample, a little piece of knit trivia:

