Me and math, we’re ok. Despite doing well in high school math and later dating two mathematicians, though, math and I never became best buddies. I understand the beauty and even like doing simple equations, but hadn’t really thought about math for a long time. Until…

A few weeks ago, I almost accidentally found a thread on Ravelry about Shannon Okey’s Knitgrrl Studio and her online classes. Within an hour I had signed up to learn about knitwear design and technical editing. I am loving it. Turns out, designing sweaters is so perfectly mathematical that it makes my inner Paul Erdös sing. Ok, it’s not really much more than rudimentary math, but I was pretty excited when I learned that sleeve caps can be estimated using Pythagoras’ Theorem.

Also. This morning, I completed my first half-marathon in 2 hours and 15 minutes. I’m so glad all those hours of training paid off…my friends stood gamely in the rain, cheering me on. I couldn’t be happier.

