I really want to start some new projects. Luckily, a few possibilities have presented themselves in the form of magazine ads. I found myself wondering who designs these ad garments for various yarn companies – some of them are extremely nice and, of course, perfectly show off the yarns for which they were made.

A few days ago I bought a dress to wear to my wedding. I have never owned a dress like this, and am unlikely to ever own another piece of clothing so amazing, and so I’m reluctant to add too many accessories to it. But that very evening, I was flipping through a knitting magazine when a Manos del Uruguay ad jumped out at me. A kind of shrug or bolero that might go very nicely with a Betsey Johnson spaghetti-strap dress…but here’s the thing. The pattern can’t be found anywhere – oh Manos, it’s so mean to tease. Apparently, th new pattern book will appear in April. My fingers are getting itchy.

Manos ad

More flipping, and another ad – the Mondo Cable Cardi for Dream in Color Yarn. A quick search on Ravelry shows that the cardigan doesn’t fit anyone as nicely as it fits the Nicole Kidman-lookalike model, yet I still want to make it…

Dream in Color ad

