I’m knitting as fast as I can, but I’m not quite done…I hope it isn’t too ambitious to say that I should be finished the Bianca cardigan for next week’s post.

Being a cardigan, it needs buttons. Some tiny little shell buttons are on their way, but I had fun looking through some of my other miscellaneous buttons in preparation. I think buttons are often overlooked, but are such an important design detail. Their colour, shape, material, and style must all compliment the garment and, sometimes, be the star of the entire project.

These are hand-carved coconut buttons, of which I sadly only have two. In the distance is a beautiful hand-turned wooden button, all picked up in Seattle a few years ago. I’m not sure the fate of these coconut buttons, but I loved them the minute I saw them and will one day knit something plain that will feature these two little gems.

