I’ve been hanging onto this one for awhile, not sure what to think. I spun up Felicia’s pretty August fibre club offering (50% merino, 25% bamboo, 25% tussah silk) using the fractal method, as she suggested, with one ply having long colour repeats and one ply having short colour repeats. But I thought I’d mix it up and add some knots, a technique I learned but haven’t ever used.

20091031 knot spun

Here’s what I have to say about this: Despite trying, I’ll probably never be a student of the Lexi Boeger school of art yarn. My tastes run towards the simple – give me stockinette, give me plainweave, hold the sparkles and lumps. I just want fibres that are natural, simple, and lovely.

Which brings me to my next point – I don’t think I like bamboo fibre. I know, shocking, given its trendiness and supposed eco-friendliness. But when it’s spun up it looks too synthetic for my taste. And, unfortunately, it only takes a small proportion to achieve this polyester sheen.

On the other hand, the colours grow on me more and more. I think this one is destined for a weaving project, though I’m warned that it should only be used for the weft. For knitting, bumps like these will only show up on the purl side so I guess I could do another baby hat in a purl pattern, too.

I still have two other treats from the fibre club to spin up but I may just go back to my tried-and-true plain spinning.

