A long while ago, I started knitting some gloves with my handspun. From the start, I wasn’t thrilled with the colour of the yarn, and as I progressed it became clear that these gloves would never make it onto my hands. The pattern I chose was for large-ish hands, and despite my modifications, they just weren’t going to be snug enough to show the lace panels on the back. The 3/4 finished glove sat accusingly next to the sofa, making me feel guilty, until…riiiiip!

20091031 koigu glove

The reason for my new-found zeal is a very similar glove pattern in the fall issue of Vogue knitting. No mucky modifications required, so I’m hoping for a good fit this time. I mean, it’s getting chilly out there, not to mention the number of gross people that sneeze all over the handrails on the skytrain. So I happily cast on some Koigu in my favourite shade of chocolate brown and hopefully will have cozy, germ-free hands soon.

