As some of you know, I recently started spinning. I wasn’t sure if I would like it. I learned how to spin short draw and worsted weight and, after fiddling around with a variety of fibres, I sat down and got to it last weekend. I spun and plied most of a handpainted blue-faced leicester roving by Yummy Yarn and was pleasantly surprised. Ok, that’s an understatement – I am so proud of my first handspun skein that I go look at and fondle it about every half hour.

spinning

spinning on my borrowed wheel

cotton-candy-handspun

my first handspun - cotton candy coloured bfl

So I’ve found that I really like spinning, and I really like the end result. I know that many people learn to spin because they can’t buy the kind of yarns they like to weave or knit. This applies to me to a certain extent, but I think I spin mostly because I just want to make something. Typically, now that I’ve had a taste of spinning, I want to dye my own fibre before spinning and knitting it. It likely won’t stop until I’ve raised the sheep, too. I tell you, I should have been in big business – it’s horizontal integration at its best.

Now all I have to do is knit my yarn up into a little hat to see if I got the twist right. I’ll post it as soon as it’s done. In the meantime, so happy was I at my spinning success that I put down a deposit on my very own Lendrum wheel! There’s a wait period of several months, but I’ll happily spin away on my borrowed wheel until then.

