There’s a chill in the air that signals that bittersweet end to summer. Like most knitters, I love fall more than the other seasons combined. So here’s a knit that celebrates end-of-summer dress-wearing, when you might need something to keep you warm out on the patio, drink in hand, Christmas lights twinkling…

This shrug has been sent to Urban Yarns where it will be on display for the next six months or so – my first store sample! It was a bit of a gamble on my part: I asked Anina what was on her sample wish list for the store; she immediately brought back a ball of Millais yarn and pattern book. I chose this shrug because it promised to be quick and interesting to knit, and it was.

I’m a bit embarrassed to say that the pattern calls for the yarn Rossetti by the same company (Louisa Harding), and I just assumed it was for Millais…and didn’t realize this until the shrug was completely finished. Luckily, it turned out to be a pretty good substitute, only having a little less drape than the Rossetti.

Pattern: Ribbon by Louisa Harding (Ravelry link here)
Yarn: Louisa Harding Millais (50% wool, 50% acrylic) in Peacock

